Front Page Awards Trophies



The Front Page Awards were established by the Newswomen’s Club in 1937-38 to honor journalistic excellence by newswomen. Originally a newspaper women’s competition, the Front Page Awards have grown to include newswomen in newspapers, television, wire services, photography, online, radio and magazines. In addition to awards in those categories, there are several unique awards.

The Martha Coman Front Page Award is presented for best new journalist. The Marie Colvin Front Page Award is presented for foreign correspondence. The Newswoman of the Year Front Page Award is presented for extraordinary coverage by a single newswoman and the Lifetime Achievement Front Page Award is presented to a newswoman with at least 25 years of exceptional service who is still working.

The Newswomen’s Club of New York, established in 1922, is the only professional organization in the New York area dedicated to supporting newswomen. The Front Page Awards help the Club fulfill its mission to promote exceptional work by women in the news business, provide networking opportunities and support the highest standards of journalism.

The Front Page Awards will be presented in November at a black tie gala.


Meet The Authors

March 4th, 2015

Newswomen’s Club members listened to a provocative discussion on March 4 at the club headquarters featuring three authors who talked about the art of writing books while working as a journalist. They discussed how they came to write their most recent books and the challenges involved in getting published. Club Treasurer Sara Randazzo moderated the event.

Pictured from left to right are Cynthia Cooper, author of “Cheating Justice: How Bush and Cheney Attacked the Rule of Law, Plotted to Avoid Prosecution,” Emily Barker, author of “The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic,” and Erin Arvedlund, author, “Open Secret: The Global Banking Conspiracy That Swindled Investors Out of Billions.”
View More

[wpvideo M2Xlkaci]

2015 Spring Photography Auction

May 13th, 2015

The Newswomen’s Club of New York held its annual Spring Photography Show and Auction on May 13 at the Ukrainian Institute of America on East 79th Street in Manhattan. Some 200 guests attended the event, which promotes great breaking news and artistic photography. Sixty photographs including three contributed by Bloomberg News, were on display and auctioned during the evening. Proceeds of the event support programs sponsored by the Newswomen’s Club of New York.
View More

Newswomen’s Club Marks 93rd Anniversary

Emma Bugbee

Emma Bugbee

The Newswomen’s Club of New York began its 93rd year on March 8. On that date in 1922, some of the most famous newswomen in the world met to form a club. They appointed a board, and Emma Bugbee, who was named secretary, took these minutes:

“The first meeting of newspaperwomen was held at the Hotel Vanderbilt on Wednesday evening, March 8. 24 were present. It was noted to organize as The New York Newspaperwomen’s Club.”

“Miss Martha Coman was appointed temporary president, Miss Theodora Beau, treasurer, and Miss Emma Bugbee, secretary. The president was authorized to appoint a committee of five to attend to the details of organization.”

“It was agreed that membership should be limited to women who make newspaper work their profession. Active members to be those regularly employed, on salary or guarantee, on the editorial staff of the New York newspapers. Twenty-five dollars was named as the amount of the annual dues.”

Emma Bugbee, Temporary Secretary

Leave a comment